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Minnesota’s New
Tax Forfeiture Law




What happened?

» Tyler v. Hennepin County
» Plaintiff moved out of Minneapolis condo in 2010
» Payable 2011 taxes became delinquent
» Property forfeited in 2015
» Property auctioned to third party in 2016
» Alleged $15,000 tax liability and $40,000 auction price




Lawsuit over $25,000 “surplus”

» District Court
» Eight Circuit Court of Appeals

» Supreme Court
~ » Decided on May 25, 2023
» 9-0 vote




Verdict

» Minnesota’s tax forfeiture law is unconstitutional

» Class action lawsuit filed against all 87 Minnesota
counties

“The taxpayer must render unto Caesar what is
Caesar's, but no more.”



Response

» Legislature needed to enact a new forfeiture law

» Come to an agreement on the class action lawsuit
and find a way to fund it

How liable are the counties when all they were
doing was following the state law?

Surplus dollars from land sales had already been
apportioned out



2024 Legislative Session

» New law and procedure for tax forfeited property

» Agreement reached on settlement with funding in
the amount of $109 million

» Settlement agreement requires counties to make a
good faith effort to sell all nonconservation land it
still has that forfeited in the lookback period (June
23, 2016 to December 31, 2023)



Three buckets of tax forfeited land

Property Property
Forfeited Forfeited Current
Before Between Forfeitures
2016 2016 to 2023
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Property that forfeited before 2016

» Often referred to as the “Legacy” forfeitures

» Business as usual

» Procedure for selling these governed by State
Statute 282

» Proceeds apportioned out




Property that forfeited between 2016 to
2023

» Referred to as the “Lookback Period”

» To help fund the settlement, counties required to
make a good faith effort to sell nonconservation
land that forfeited during that time period

» Multiple options for conducting the sale including
adjacent landowner sales

» Must first be offered at appraised value

» Usual requirements for land sales outlined in 282 are
out the window



Proceeds from sale

» Properties sold before June 30, 2027:
75% to be reimbursed to the State
25% to the County

» Properties sold before June 30, 2029:
85% to be reimbursed to the State
15% to the County

County proceeds do not need to be apportioned




New forfeitures and beyond

» Constitutional Requirements

» Create an opportunity for interested parties to
claim “surplus” funds in collection process

» Capture market value of property for purposes of
calculating surplus

» Adequate due process for all interested parties




Overview of new MN forfeiture process

Taxes become
delinquent

Ch. 279 judgment action
NEW information tq be
included in notice;
counties to post notice
online in multiple
languages

Property bid-in for state

Redemption period
(usually 3 years)

NER served

Property forfeits

County notifies DNR of
forfeited properties

DNR can withdraw
property from sale and
initiate condemnation

proceeding instead

if not withdrawn,
county sends notice to
interested parties that
mineral interest was
sold to state for $50

Interest parties can
challenge value of
mineral interest

v

Offer property for sale
at assessed value within
six months {extensive
notice of sale)

If property does not sell
within 30 days, offer for
sale at minimum bid

Notify interested
parties of any surplus

Pay out surplus or
initiate court action to
determine rights to
surplus

If property purchased
by credit bid for state,
manage under Ch. 282




New Law continued...

» Taxes become delinquent
C Ch. 279 judgement action

Property bid-in for State
C Redemption period (usually 3 years)
C Notice of Expiration of Redemption (NER) served
C Property forfeits




New law continued...

» Property is now tax forfeit and deed transfers to
the State

C County notifies DNR of forfeited properties

DNR can withdraw property and initiate
C condemnation proceeding instead

If not withdrawn, county sends notice to
interested parties that mineral interest was sold
C to State for S50

Interested parties can challenge value of mineral
interest




New law continued...

» Property must now be offered for sale

Auction to occur within six months with starting
C bid at appraised value

If property does not sell within 30 days, offer for
sale at minimum bid*

*Minimum bid is sum of delinquent taxes, special
assessments, penalties, interest, and costs
assigned to the parcel



New law continued...

If property sells at auction: Other scenarios:
60 days to notify interested - Property does not sell at
parties of surplus auction - remains tax
Interested parties have six forfeited and managed
under 282

months to claim surplus
Property sells at auction,
but surplus is not claimed -
surplus retained by the
county and does not need

Property can be purchased by to be apportioned
credit bid for state (then

managed under 282)

County pays out surplus or
initiates court action to
determine rights to surplus

Only surplus above minimum
bid paid out - county recaptures
its fees



Food for thought...

» Reduction in land sale revenue to FTS account

» Properties will not be easily available for local
jurisdictions

» Repurchases no longer require County Board
approval

» Former owners will not receive any surplus funds
for months

» Still waiting for forms from MMB and DOR
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Questions




